National Gingerbread House Competition

15 Dec

One of my favorite things about the holidays isn’t just the food, but those few cities that just exude holiday cheer. Asheville, North Carolina is one of these special cities.

A couple of years ago I was doing some research as to what else there was to do in Asheville at Christmas aside from visiting the breathtaking Biltmore Estate and that is how I found this little gem- The National Gingerbread House Competition.

So, for years now I’ve wanted to see these little (and some not-so-little) exquisite houses. This was my year. Being good sports, my Dad and husband tagged along to Grove Park Inn to check it out first hand. Just as a little side note, Grove Park Inn is worth visiting whether or not you’re going to see the gingerbread houses.

Surprisingly enough some of my favorite houses weren’t even top winners. In fact, we all felt a little gipped by the Grand Prize winner because it wasn’t even a house. It was beautiful, but not a house.

Grand Prize Winner

Teen 1st Place

Youth 2nd Place

Okay, I realize I’ve been listing the “top” winners in each category, however I disagree with the judges’ choice here. In my opinion, this is much better than the 1st place winner. Just look at a close-up of these leaves that make up the roof. (excuse the photo quality, they had many of these top winners encased in glass!)

Child 1st Place

Those are the best of the best, at least in the judges eyes. For some reason this tree lot scene was my favorite house of the day.

One Response to “National Gingerbread House Competition”

  1. Jennifer November 4, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I was cruising thru photos of gingerbread houses and came across the Christmas tree lot with the air stream camper. I just wanted to say thank you for the wonderful comment that you made that this was your “favorite”. The Christmas tree lot and camper is mine! Thank you so much! My family and friends say that this was one of their favorites too! Again thank you!

Leave a Reply

