Sparkles Don’t Always Shine

9 Jul

Last week, Sparkle Cupcake Company in Lenox Village advertised on Twitter that they were having a $1 cupcake special all day long. I read this little sweet tweet at work and couldn’t wait to get home and take my husband to try our first Sparkle cupcake. From what friends and reviews say, this is a cupcake just waiting for all of Nashville to come taste.

We arrived to the shop to find a sign on the door that said something to the affect of “We had to close to bake more cupcakes we’ll be open again at 6!” Thankfully, it was 6:30, we were safe. As we walked into the shop the millions of boxes around the store caught my attention before the mouthwatering smell could even enter my senses. From this moment on the experience went completely downhill.

One very kind employee told us they wouldn’t have cupcakes that weren’t pre-ordred for a couple of more hours and to come back then. My curious side wanted to know the day’s flavors in order to decide if it would be worth the trip.

As she went on and on (my mind had been stuck at strawberry cheesecake), a not-so-nice employee came out and smarted off something to her and us about not being able to serve more cupcakes for the night. Damn girl, we got the picture. I just wanted to hear about the yummy flavors!

We left with an unfulfilled craving. I guess Sparkle Cupcake Company tasting will just have to wait for another day.

Find their flavors, events, and tweet specials on their sites:

4 Responses to “Sparkles Don’t Always Shine”

  1. Sarah July 9, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    This is a shame. Interesting how we had a totally different experience. 😦

    • HUSBAND July 9, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Would have been nice if we could have even tried it. They are technical enough to tweet about the sale of $1 cupcakes, but didn’t bother letting the followers know that they were out!! If it weren’t for the use of twitter I wouldn’t care, but people like me use twitter for up to date information, including running out of a extremely well priced sell. All i ask for is a tweet that is something like this :
      “Sorry to all of our wonderful followers but we have so many fans for our cupcakes we have ran out for the day! Check back tomorrow for a 20% discount by mentioning this tweet!”
      But no we got “Sorry we are out but you can have the “leftovers” after 8 o’clock! 20 minute drive for nothing but a watering mouth.
      Just a sad over all experience.

  2. Jeff Whitsitt August 21, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    I had a similar experience of them being out of cupcakes when it came to a special advertised deal. Probably the only way I would purchase as their product seems way overpriced.

  3. Asheley77 February 15, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    I purchased 2 Groupons from this company. The staff is most certainly not friendly and helpful. I was in Nashville for the morning, so I called in advance as required by the Groupon but was informed that I could not pick up the cupcakes the same day. I live an hour outside of Nashville, so an additional trip for cupcakes is not convenient. The friendly staff was not helpful or understanding about this. Also I was informed that I could not choose the cupcakes I had already paid for; I could either allow the staff to pick out 12 for me or I could pick 3 and the company would give me 4 each. This was not stated in the fine print of the Groupon. And how do I know which 3 to pre-order if I’ve never been to the shop? This is a rip-off, and I will not recommend this company to anyone I care about.

Leave a Reply

