Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting

9 Jul
I’m on a strawberry kick since 4th of July, so I’ve been looking for another excuse to make something with the yummy berry. I found a recipe for a strawberry frosting and thought it would be perfect with a chocolate cupcake. I mean who doesn’t love chocolate strawberries, right? Here’s how it’s done:
Beat together:
  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 4 eggs (add one at a time)

Sift:

  • 1 3/4 cups of flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup cocoa powder

Measure out 1 cup of milk and 2 tsps vanilla

Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients followed by 1/2 of the milk and so on and so on. Also, be sure you scrape the sides and bottom of your bowl, you don’t want flour stuck to the sides when you think you’re finished. Pour batter into cupcake paper-lined muffin tins filling them 3/4 full.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

My first batch looked amazing. I moved them to cool and filled in the second tin. After setting the timer and giving them a minute to cook, I returned to check on my chocolate cupcakes. What I found in the oven was barely baking batter. Crap! I had turned the oven off. After a quick laugh at myself, I turned the oven back on and reset the timer.

I had to watch this batch a little closer because of my little slip up, but they still turned out just right.

The recipe for strawberry frosting sounded good, but I have a thing for creamcheese frosting so I changed it up a little. Rather than adding two sticks of butter, I added one stick of butter and one package 8 oz. cream cheese both at room temperature and beat until creamy.

Then sift in 3-4 cups of powdered sugar and beat. Add 1/3 cup of strawberry puree and beat until combined. After adding the puree my frosting was a little runny. Next time I’ll probably just try chopped strawberries.

Although I’m not completely pleased with the frosting, this cupcake was delicious!


Share/Bookmark

One Response to “Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Peanut Butter Oasis « The Cupcake Cure - July 27, 2010

    […] stuck with my current recipe. However, I did make one little change. Rather than using milk in the Chocolate Cupcake recipe, I used one cup of sour […]

Leave a Reply

